Storyboards. UPDATE.

Storyboards are visual aids in creating animations/films/live performances. They are guidelines to help you find stage positions, entrance, movement and also timing. Storyboards are the building blocks of any production without storyboards, it would just be heat of the moments placement. Storyboards are the visual script and without them productions would lack structure. Ray Harryhausen’s style of storyboarding is amazing, he includes a lot of information which not only shows direction, it explains timing and angles of shot.

077879f5eea41c5ad785d7e788b1e79e

This storyboard from Ray Harryhausen’s book Fantasy Scrapbook, shows an intense fight scene with two dinosaurs, the explanation is thorough and even with the images being static, with the guides and arrows, you can see the storyboard come to life.

I’d like to recreate his style and process as I think it would help and be rather efficient, I like to be in total control of the animation. My idea for my Ident is for a fist to be shown tapping the floor, then my company name appears, the fist hits the ground harder smashing the ident thus showing the meaning for “Abolish”.

Leave a comment